Visa

All information on applying for a visa.

  1. Last updated on

Competent authority for visa applications

All the information concerning visa applications for Belgium is available on the website of the Immigration Office of the FPS Home Affairs, which is the competent Belgian authority for access to the territory, stay, residence and removal of foreigners in Belgium.


Coronavirus

For the latest information regarding travel to Belgium, please click here. These rules will also be applied for travel to Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Denmark, Norway and Sweden.


Information on the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)

 

  1. Short stay visa (visa C)
  2. Long stay visa (visa D)
  3. Checking the status of your visa application
  4. Schengen representation for visa
  5. Medical certificate - Certified doctors
  6. Contact

 

1. Short stay visa (visa C) 

  • Citizens of Jamaica need a visa and may apply in person for a visa C (short stay, max. 90 days) via our Embassy if they reside in Jamaica and their main destination is Belgium, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Denmark, Norway or Sweden. Attention: we are not responsible for the Dutch Caribbean Territories!

    Click HERE for more information and to apply.

    Remark: citizens of Jamaica travelling on a diplomatic or official passport do not need a visa for the Benelux countries (Belgium, Netherlands, Luxemburg).

    If you reside legally in Jamaica but have a different nationality please contact us to verify whether you need a visa (kingston@diplobel.fed.be).

    If you are a Jamaican residing outside of Jamaica, you need to verify which embassy of your destination country is responsible for your country of residence. 
  • Citizens of Guyana and Suriname need a visa and may apply in person for a visa C (short stay, max. 90 days) via the Embassy of the Netherlands in Paramaribo (Suriname) if they reside in Gyana or Suriname and their main destination is Belgium or Luxemburg. It is possible to apply for a visa via our Embassy, in that case follow the instructions for Jamaica.


  • If you reside legally in Guyana or Suriname but have a different nationality please contact us to verify whether you need a visa (kingston@diplobel.fed.be).
     
  • Citizens of Anguilla (UK), Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Cayman (UK), Dominica, Grenada, Virgin Islands (UK), Montserrat (UK), St Kitts & Nevis, St Vincent & Grenadines, St Lucia, Trinidad & Tobago do not need a visa C (short stay, max. 90 days) for Belgium. 

    If you reside legally in one of these countries but have a different nationality, please contact us to verify whether you need a visa (kingston@diplobel.fed.be).

 

2. Long stay visa (visa D)


2.1. General information


A long stay visa (visa D) is intended for residence in Belgium or Luxemburg for a longer period of time (family reunification, study, work,…).

We can only treat applications for visa D when residence in Belgium or Luxemburg is intended. We are not responsible for any other countries in this respect.

For all information regarding long stay visa for Luxemburg please consult the following website: guichet.public.lu/fr/citoyens/immigration.html

All information concerning long stay visa for Belgium can be found on the Immigration Office website. The Immigration Office is the only authority in charge of entry, stay, settlement and removal of foreigners with relation to the Belgian territory.

Applicants who are exempt from a short stay visa (visa C) can in some cases travel to Belgium without visa and apply for their residence there. However, it is always to be advised to apply for the visa D before travelling to Belgium through our Embassy, to avoid all possible problems. If you are exempt from a visa C (short stay) and you intend to reside in Belgium, please send us a detailed email so we can inform you clearly about your options.


2.2 Procedure to be followed


Visa D for Luxemburg


Consult guichet.public.lu/fr/citoyens/immigration.html

Send us an email in case you have further questions (kingston@diplobel.fed.be).


Visa D for Belgium
  • I am a citizen and resident of Jamaica

    You are required to have a visa to travel and are obligated to apply for your visa D through our Embassy. You will need to fill out your application form online and make an appointment to submit your application in person. Click HERE for more information and to apply for a visa D.
     
  • I am a citizen and resident of Suriname or Guyana

    You are required to have a visa to travel and are obligated to apply for your visa D through our Embassy. You will need to fill out your application form online and send your full application to us via courier service (see Sending and collection of documents). Personal appearance at our Embassy is not necessary. Click HERE for more information and to apply for a visa D.
     
  • I am a citizen and resident of Anguilla (UK), Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Cayman (UK), Dominica, Grenada, British Virgin Islands (UK), Montserrat (UK), St Kitts & Nevis, St Vincent & the Grenadines, St. Lucia or Trinidad & Tobago

    You are not required to have a visa to travel (visa C) and can, in some cases, travel to Belgium without a visa and apply for your residence there. However, it is always to be advised to apply for the visa D before travelling to Belgium through our Embassy, to avoid all possible problems. Please send us a detailed email so we can inform you clearly about your options. (kingston@diplobel.fed.be).
     
  • I reside in one of the above countries but I am not a citizen of that country

    Please send us a detailed email so we can inform you about the procedure to be followed. (kingston@diplobel.fed.be).

Please note: The website of the Immigration Office is currently being completely renewed and is still under construction. If you notice that a link does not work, please go to the opening page of the website: https://dofi.ibz.be/en. Or consult the page in another language.


3. Checking the status of your visa application


Belgian embassies and consulates general must submit certain visa applications to the Immigration Office of the Federal Public Service Home Affairs for a final decision. It is the only competent authority with regards to the admittance, stay, residence and removal of foreigners from Belgian territory.

In such a case, your file number will be communicated to you by the embassy or consulate general upon the submission of your file to the Immigration Office. From this stage onwards, the Immigration Office is the only authority to contact, if you wish to know the status of your application.

With the file number you can inquire about the status of your application (Antwerpsesteenweg 59B, 1000 Brussels, T: +32.2.793.80.00, infodesk@ibz.fgov.be). Using this number, you can also check the status of your visa application on the Immigration Office website

Once a decision has been taken, The Belgian Embassy or Consulate general will inform you personally.

 
4. Schengen representation


In Kingston (Jamaica), Belgium represents Luxembourg for the treatment of short term visas (<= 90 days) and long term visas (over 90 days) and the Netherlands, Sweden, Denmark and Norway for short stay visas (<= 90 days) only. 

In Castries (Saint Lucia), Belgium is represented by France for the treatment of applications for short term visa (90 days maximum).

Ambassade de France 
Nelson Mandela Drive 
Castries  
Tel: + 1 758 455 6060 
Mail: visas.frenchembslu@gmail.com

In Paramaribo (Suriname), Belgium is represented by the Netherlands for the treatment of applications for short term visa (90 days maximum).

Ambassade des Pays Bas 
Van Roseveltkade 5 
Paramaribo 
Tel: + 1 597 477 211 
Mail: prm-vs@minbuza.nl

The embassy that represents another Schengen state applies its own rules for the delivery of short term visas.

Not all short stay visa applications can be handled in representation. This depends on the representation agreement that has been signed between Belgium and the Schengen Member State in question. For more information about this, you can consult our representation partner or the Belgian embassy.

 
5. Medical certificate - Certified doctors


If you need a medical certificate we invite you to contact one of the doctors certified by the embassy.

A medical certificate is only needed for visa D applications.

In Jamaica:

Dr. Richard Gomes
Devon House East, Unit 28
28 Hope Road (entrance on Kingsway)
Kingston 10
Tel.: +1876 926 7161
Tel./Fax: +1876 968 0682

In Suriname:

Dr. Jasin Harold Mohammed Ashim 
Ashim Medisch Centrum 
Tel: +1 597 48 61 40 
Tel: +1 597 48 61 50 
Tel: +1 597 48 61 70 
Tel: +1 597 48 61 92 
Fax: 486192 
Mail: info@amcsur.com

 
6. Contact


Should you have any further questions, please contact us by email: kingston@diplobel.fed.be

Ambassade de Belgique en Jamaïque
Home Visa

Visa

 

  1. Visa court séjour (visa C)
  2. Visa long séjour (visa D)
  3. Comment suivre votre dossier
  4. Représentation Schengen
  5. Certificat médical - Médecins agréés
  6. Contact

 

Coronavirus

Pour la dernière information concernant voyages vers la Belgique, cliquez ici. Ces règles seront appliqués de même pour les voyages vers le Luxembourg, les Pays Bas, le Danemark, la Norvège et la Suède.

Information concernant Règlement Général de Protection des Données

Information concernant le traitement de données personnelles dans le cadre d’une demande de visa: cliquez ici

Information relatif au traitement de données personnelles dans le VIS: cliquez ici

 

1. Visa court séjour (visa C)

 

◦ Les ressortissants de la Jamaïque sont soumis à l’obligation de visa et peuvent demander un visa C (court séjour, max. 90 jours) en personne auprès de notre ambassade s'ils résident dans la Jamaïque et leur destination principale est la Belgique, le Luxembourg, les Pays Bas, le Danemark, la Norvège ou la Suède. Cliquez ICI pour plus d’information et pour demander un visa.

Attention : Les ressortissants de la Jamaïque qui ont un passeport diplomatique ou officiel ne nécessitent pas de visa pour le Benelux (Belgique, Pays-Bas, Luxembourg) pour un court séjour.

Si vous résidez de manière légale en Jamaïque mais vous avez une nationalité différente, contactez-nous afin de vérifier si vous êtes soumis à l’obligation de visa (kingston@diplobel.fed.be). 

Si vous êtes Jamaiquain mais vous résidez dans un autre pays, vous devez vérifier quel ambassade de votre pays de destination est responsable pour votre pays de résidence. Vous pouvez nous envoyez un message pour clarification (kingston@diplobel.fed.be)

° Les ressortissants du Suriname et du Guyana sont soumis à l’obligation de visa et peuvent demander un visa C (court séjour, max. 90 jours) en personne auprès de l’Ambassade des Pays Bas à Paramaribo (Suriname) s'is résident au Suriname ou en Guyana et leur destination principale est la Belgique ou le Luxembourg.

Si vous résidez de manière légale au Suriname ou à Guyana mais vous avez une nationalité différente, contactez-nous afin de vérifier si vous êtes soumis à l’obligation de visa (kingston@diplobel.fed.be).

Attention : pour un visa de retour (perte de carte de résidence) vous contactez notre ambassade par e-mail au plus vite possible (kingston@diplobel.fed.be).

◦ Les ressortissants d’Anguilla (RU), Antigua & Barbuda, Barbade, Iles Caïmans (RU), Dominique, Grenade, Iles Vierges (RU), Montserrat (RU), St Kitts & Nevis, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Ste Lucie et Trinidad & Tobago ne sont pas soumis à l’obligation de visa pour un court séjour, max. 90 jours.

Si vous résidez de manière légale dans un de ces pays mais vous avez une nationalité différente, contactez-nous afin de vérifier si vous êtes soumis à l’obligation de visa (kingston@diplobel.fed.be).

2. Visa long séjour (visa D)

2.1 Information générale

Le but d’un visa long séjour (visa D) est de résider en Belgique ou Luxembourg pour un période plus longue (regroupement familiale, études, travail…).

Notre ambassade ne peut traiter que les demandes d’un visa D si l’intention est de résider en Belgique ou Luxembourg. Nous ne sommes pas responsables pour d’autres pays dans ce sens.

Pour toute information concernant un visa long séjour pour Luxembourg, merci de consulter le site web https://guichet.public.lu/fr/citoyens/immigration.html.

Toute information concernant un visa long séjour pour la Belgique se trouve sur le site web de l’Office des Etrangers. L’Offices des Etrangers est la seule autorité qui contrôle l’entrée, le séjour, la résidence et l’expulsion d’étrangers pour la Belgique.

Les demandeurs qui ne sont pas soumis à l’obligation de visa court séjour (visa C) peuvent, dans certains cas, voyager vers la Belgique sans visa et demander la résidence là-bas. Par contre, il est toujours à conseiller de demander un visa D auprès de notre Ambassade avant de voyager vers la Belgique, afin d’éviter tout problème. Si vous n’êtes pas soumis à l’obligation de visa court séjour (visa C) et vous comptez résider en Belgique, merci de bien vouloir nous envoyer un email détaillé afin de pouvoir vous conseiller sur vos options.

2.2 Procédure à suivre

Visa D pour le Luxembourg

Consultez https://guichet.public.lu/fr/citoyens/immigration.html.

Envoyez-nous un message si vous avez encore des questions (kington@diplobel.fed.be).

Visa D pour la Belgique

° Je suis citoyen et résident de la Jamaïque

Vous êtes soumis à l’obligation de visa et vous êtes obligé de demander votre visa D auprès de notre Ambassade. Vous devez remplir leformulaire de demande en ligne et prendre rendez-vous afin d’introduire votre demande en personne. Cliquez ICI pour plus d’information et pour demander un visa D.

° Je suis citoyen et résident du Suriname ou du Guyane

Vous êtes soumis à l’obligation de visa et vous êtes obligé de demander votre visa D auprès de notre Ambassade. Vous devez remplir le formulaire de demande en ligne et envoyer vos documents vers nous via service courrier (voir Envoi et retrait de documents). Vous ne devez pas venir en personne à notre Ambassade. Cliquez ICI pour plus d’information et pour demander un visa D.

◦ Je suis citoyen et résident d’Anguilla (RU), Antigua & Barbuda, Barbade, Iles Caïmans (RU), Dominique, Grenade, Iles Vierges (RU), Montserrat (RU), St Kitts & Nevis, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Ste Lucie ou Trinidad & Tobago

Vous n’êtes pas soumis à l’obligation de visa court séjour (visa C) et vous pouvez, dans certains cas, voyager vers la Belgique sans visa et demander la résidence là-bas. Par contre, il est toujours à conseiller de demander un visa D auprès de notre Ambassade avant de voyager vers la Belgique, afin d’éviter tout problème. Merci de bien vouloir nous envoyer un email détaillé afin de pouvoir vous conseiller sur vos options. (kingston@diplobel.fed.be)

° Je réside dans un des pays mentionné mais je ne suis pas citoyen de ce pays

Merci de bien vouloir nous envoyer un email détaillé afin de pouvoir vous conseiller sur la procédure à suivre. (kingston@diplobel.fed.be)

 

3. Comment suivre votre dossier

Les ambassades et consulats généraux de Belgique doivent soumettre certaines demandes de visa pour décision à l’Office des étrangers du SPF Intérieur, la seule instance compétente en matière d’accès, de séjour, d’établissement et d’éloignement des étrangers.

En pareil cas, le numéro de votre dossier vous sera communiqué par l’ambassade ou le consulat général lors du dépôt de votre demande. A partir de ce stade, l’Office des Etrangers est l’unique instance à contacter pour connaître l’état d’avancement de votre dossier. Muni de ce numéro, vous pourrez vous enquérir de l’état d’avancement de votre dossier auprès de l’Office des étrangers (chaussée d’Anvers 59B, 1000 Bruxelles, tél. +32.2.793.80.00, infodesk@ibz.fgov.be). Ce numéro vous permettra par ailleurs d’effectuer cette même vérification sur le site de l’Office des étrangers.

En tous cas, l’ambassade ou le consulat général de Belgique vous informera personnellement de la décision prise concernant votre demande de visa.

 

4. Représentation Schengen

À Kingston (Jamaïque), la Belgique représente le Luxembourg pour le traitement des demandes de visa de court (<=90 jours) et de long séjour (plus de 90 jours) et la Norvège, la Suède, le Danemark et les Pays Bas pour le court séjour (<= 90 jours) seulement. 

À Castries (Sainte Lucie), la Belgique est représentée par la France pour le traitement des demandes de visa de court séjour (90 jours maximum).

Ambassade de France 
Nelson Mandela Drive 
Castries  
tel : + 1 758 455 6060 
mail : visas.frenchembslu@gmail.com  

À Paramaribo (Suriname), la Belgique est représentée par les Pays-Bas pour le traitement des demandes de visa de court séjour (90 jours maximum).

Ambassade des Pays Bas 
Van Roseveltkade 5 
Paramaribo 
Tel : + 1 597 477 211 
Mail : prm-vs@minbuza.nl

L’ambassade qui assure la représentation d’un autre Etat Schengen applique ses propres règles pour la délivrance de visa de court séjour.

La formule de la représentation ne permet pas nécessairement le traitement de tous les types de demandes de visa de court séjour. Cela dépend de l’accord conclu entre la Belgique et l’État Schengen en question. Si vous souhaitez obtenir des informations complémentaires à ce sujet, vous pouvez vous adresser à notre partenaire ou à l’ambassade de Belgique.

 
5. Certificat médical - Médecins agréés

Si vous avez besoin d’un certificat médical, nous vous invitons à vous adresser à l’un des médecins agréés par l’ambassade/le consulat général. Un certificat médical est nécessaire seulement pour certaines types de visa D.

En Jamaïque :

Dr. Richard Gomes
Devon House East, Unit 28
28 Hope Road (entrée sur Kingsway)
Kingston 10
Tel.: +1876 926 7161
Tel./Fax: +1876 968 0682

 

Au Suriname :

Dr. Jasin Harold Mohammed Ashim 
Ashim Medisch Centrum 
Tel : +1 597 48 61 40 
Tel : +1 597 48 61 50 
Tel : +1 597 48 61 70 
Tel : +1 597 48 61 92 
Fax: 486192 
Mail: info@amcsur.com

 
6. Contact

Si vous avez d’autres questions, n'hésitez pas à nous joindre uniquement par mail adressé à kingston@diplobel.fed.be